NYU Arts & Science

Physics Colloquia

December 12, 2019 Thursday 3:00 PM  +
726 Broadway Room 940
Physics Colloquia (colloquia)


Michael Douglas
Stonybrook

How Will We Do Mathematics in 2030?

We make the case that over the coming decade, computer assisted reasoning will become far more widely used in the mathematical sciences. This includes interactive and automatic theorem verification, symbolic algebra, and emerging technologies such as formal knowledge repositories, semantic search and intelligent textbooks.
After a short review of the state of the art, we survey directions where we expect progress, such as mathematical search and formal abstracts, developments in computational mathematics, integration of computation into textbooks, and organizing and verifying large calculations and proofs. For each we try to identify the barriers and potential solutions.


January 30, 2020 Thursday 4:00 PM  +
726 Broadway Room 940
Physics Colloquia (colloquia)


Tracy Slatyer
MIT

TBA



February 13, 2020 Thursday 4:00 PM  +
726 Broadway Room 940
Physics Colloquia (colloquia)


Charles Marcus
University of Copenhagen/Microsoft

TBA



February 20, 2020 Thursday 4:00 PM  +
726 Broadway Room 940
Physics Colloquia (colloquia)


Nadya Mason
University of Illinois

TBA



February 27, 2020 Thursday 4:00 PM  +
726 Broadway Room 940
Physics Colloquia (colloquia)


Frans Pretorious
Princeton University

TBA



March 12, 2020 Thursday 4:00 PM  +
726 Broadway Room 940
Physics Colloquia (colloquia)


Ignacio Cirac
Max Planck Institute

TBA



March 26, 2020 Thursday 4:00 PM  +
726 Broadway Room 940
Physics Colloquia (colloquia)


Andrew Wray
NYU

TBA



April 2, 2020 Thursday 4:00 PM  +
726 Broadway Room 940
Physics Colloquia (colloquia)


Feryal Ozel
University of Arizona

TBA



April 16, 2020 Thursday 4:00 PM  +
726 Broadway Room 940
Physics Colloquia (colloquia)


Netta Engelhardt
MIT

TBA



April 23, 2020 Thursday 4:00 PM  +
726 Broadway Room 940
Physics Colloquia (colloquia)


Sabetta Matsumoto
Georgia Tech

TBA



May 7, 2020 Thursday 4:00 PM  +
726 Broadway Room 940
Physics Colloquia (colloquia)


Joanna Aizenberg
Harvard University

TBA