Skip to page Content.

All Scheduled Events

Weekly Bulletin 12-day Event Forecast All Scheduled Events
Astrophysics and Relativity Seminars Atomic Molecular and Optical Seminars High Energy Physics Seminars
Condensed Matter Physics Seminars Experimental Particle Physics Seminars Other CCPP
Physics Colloquia Other Events Events Search

Colloquia Archive

All Scheduled Events

November, 11/27/2014
Events and times subject to change

November 28, 2014 Friday 11:30 AM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

astro coffee



December 1, 2014 Monday 11:00 AM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Experimental Particle Physics Seminars (hep-ex)


Mark Cooke
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Naturalness and Searches for Vector-like Quarks with the ATLAS Detector at the Large Hadron Collider

The discovery of a Higgs boson by the ATLAS and CMS collaborations supports the implementation of electroweak symmetry breaking in the Standard Model (SM). However, the scalar and Yukawa sectors of the SM appear ad-hoc, with many parameters determined by experiment. In addition, corrections to the squared Higgs mass are quadratic in the energy scale the SM is expected to be valid to, suggesting a fine-tuning (naturalness) problem if new dynamics are absent at TeV scale energies. Proposed solutions to the naturalness problem often introduce top partners, as the largest corrections are induced by diagrams involving the top quark. In supersymmetry, a scalar partner to the top quark plays this role. However, a fermion can also serve as a top partner, in particular a quark with vector-like quantum numbers. Vector-like quarks would present a diverse set of signatures at the CERN Large Hadron Collider (LHC), as they may decay at tree-level in both the neutral-current (Z and H bosons) and charged-current (W boson) modes. In this talk I will present the results of complementary searches for vector-like top and bottom quarks using data collected with the ATLAS detector during 8 TeV proton-proton collisions at the LHC.


December 1, 2014 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag
Federica Bianco
NYU

Echoes from the past



December 2, 2014 Tuesday 11:30 AM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

astro coffee



December 3, 2014 Wednesday 2:00 PM  +
Meyer 6th Floor Conference Room
Soft Condensed Matter Seminars (csmr)


Maxime Clusel

Stochastic Thermodynamics, From ħ=0 to ħ=1

Progress has been made during the last decades in the development of a statistical theory for classical out-of-equilibrium system. In addition to celebrated fluctuation theorems, stochastic thermodynamic now provides both a nice unifying theoretical framework and a useful way for studying these systems experimentally. It was for instance at the heart of the first experimental verification of Landauer principle. After reviewing the classical case, I will propose an attempt to construct a quantum stochastic thermodynamics based on a quantum trajectory description of driven open systems. This framework allows for definitions at the single trajectory level of basic thermodynamic quantities such as heat transfer, work and entropy in the quantum regime. It can then be used to obtained “central” fluctuation theorems, from which follow more"practical" fluctuation relations such as for instance Jarzynski and Crooks fluctuation theorems. I will discuss in particular similarities and differences between the ħ=0 and ħ=1 regimes.


December 3, 2014 Wednesday 2:00 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
High Energy Physics Seminars (hep)


Steen Hannestad
Aarhus University

Reconciling sterile neutrinos with cosmology



December 4, 2014 Thursday 4:00 PM  +
Meyer 122
Physics Colloquia (colloquia)


Paul Janmey
University of Pennsylvania

TBA



December 5, 2014 Friday 11:30 AM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

astro coffee



December 5, 2014 Friday 2:00 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Astrophysics and Relativity Seminars (astro)


Ori Fox
Berkeley/NASA



December 8, 2014 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag
Luis Anchordoqui
Lehman College

It's Hunting Season: Where are the muon tracks?



December 9, 2014 Tuesday 11:30 AM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

astro coffee



December 10, 2014 Wednesday 2:00 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
High Energy Physics Seminars (hep)


Jared Kaplan
Johns Hopkins University

TBA



December 11, 2014 Thursday 2:00 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

Other

Physics Student Hour with Ali Yazdani



December 11, 2014 Thursday 4:00 PM  +
Meyer 122
Physics Colloquia (colloquia)


Ali Yazdani
Princeton University

TBA



December 11, 2014 Thursday 5:30 PM  +
Meyer 6th Floor CSMR Area
Other Physics Department Events (other)

Physics Department Holiday Party

Light refreshments will be served.


December 12, 2014 Friday 11:30 AM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

astro coffee



December 12, 2014 Friday 2:00 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Astrophysics and Relativity Seminars (astro)


Christy Tremonti
University of Wisconsin, Madison

Constraining Galaxy Feeding and Feedback with MaNGA

A central issue in galaxy evolution is understanding the "baryon cycle," namely how gas is accreted onto galaxies and expelled in galactic winds. Gas flows are difficult to measure directly, but disk galaxy nebular oxygen abundance measurements can provide powerful indirect constraints. I will present some early work form the SDSS-IV MaNGA survey which will obtain spatially resolved oxygen abundance measurements of around 5,000 disk galaxies.


December 15, 2014 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag



December 16, 2014 Tuesday 11:30 AM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

astro coffee



December 17, 2014 Wednesday 2:00 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
High Energy Physics Seminars (hep)


Christoph Uhlemann
University of Washington

TBA



December 19, 2014 Friday 11:30 AM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

astro coffee



December 22, 2014 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag
Gia Dvali



January 26, 2015 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag



January 28, 2015 Wednesday 2:00 PM  +
Meyer 6th Floor Conference Room
Soft Condensed Matter Seminars (csmr)


Damon Clark

How Flies Compute Motion: Tuning Nonlinearities to Natural Scenes



January 28, 2015 Wednesday 2:00 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
High Energy Physics Seminars (hep)


Matthew Dolan
SLAC

TBA



January 29, 2015 Thursday 4:00 PM  +
Meyer 122
Physics Colloquia (colloquia)


Alessandra Lanzara
UC Berkeley

TBA



February 2, 2015 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag



February 4, 2015 Wednesday 2:00 PM  +
Meyer 6th Floor Conference Room
Soft Condensed Matter Seminars (csmr)


Yitzhak Rabin
Bar Ilan University

TBD



February 4, 2015 Wednesday 2:00 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
High Energy Physics Seminars (hep)


Frederik Denef
Columbia University

TBA



February 5, 2015 Thursday 4:00 PM  +
Meyer 122
Physics Colloquia (colloquia)


John Johnson

TBA



February 9, 2015 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag



February 11, 2015 Wednesday 2:00 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
High Energy Physics Seminars (hep)


Albion Lawrence
Brandeis

TBA



February 12, 2015 Thursday 4:00 PM  +
Meyer 122
Physics Colloquia (colloquia)


Vincenzo Vitelli
Leiden

TBA



February 16, 2015 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag



February 18, 2015 Wednesday 2:00 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
High Energy Physics Seminars (hep)


Andy Royston
Texas A&M

TBA



February 23, 2015 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag



February 26, 2015 Thursday 4:00 PM  +
Meyer 122
Physics Colloquia (colloquia)


Vicky Kaspi
McGill University

TBA



February 27, 2015 Friday 2:00 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Astrophysics and Relativity Seminars (astro)


Beth Willman
Haverford College



March 2, 2015 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag



March 9, 2015 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag



March 12, 2015 Thursday 4:00 PM  +
Meyer 122
Physics Colloquia (colloquia)


Joe Lykken

TBA



March 16, 2015 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag



March 23, 2015 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag



March 25, 2015 Wednesday 2:00 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
High Energy Physics Seminars (hep)


Spencer Chang
University of Oregon

tba



March 26, 2015 Thursday 4:00 PM  +
Meyer 122
Physics Colloquia (colloquia)


Jerome Bibette
EPSCI

TBA



March 30, 2015 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag



April 3, 2015 Friday 2:00 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
High Energy Physics Seminars (hep)


Adam Peterson
University of Minnesota

TBA



April 6, 2015 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag



April 9, 2015 Thursday 4:00 PM  +
Meyer 122
Physics Colloquia (colloquia)


Mikhail Lukin
Harvard University

TBA



April 13, 2015 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag



April 16, 2015 Thursday 4:00 PM  +
Meyer 122
Physics Colloquia (colloquia)


Gabriel Kotliar

TBA



April 20, 2015 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag



April 27, 2015 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag



April 30, 2015 Thursday 4:00 PM  +
Meyer 122
Physics Colloquia (colloquia)


Marc Kamionkowksi

TBA



May 4, 2015 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag



May 11, 2015 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag



May 18, 2015 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag



May 25, 2015 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag



June 1, 2015 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag



June 8, 2015 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag



June 15, 2015 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag



June 22, 2015 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag



June 29, 2015 Monday 12:30 PM  +
Meyer 5th Fl. CCPP Lounge
Other CCPP (ccpp)

CCPP Brown Bag